Gorch Fock I and other training ships

The President of our company recently took a trip to the Baltic Sea. The goal was the Hanseatic city of Greifswald, where he gave a lecture on the “Sea Devil” Count Luckner in front of the local boatmen’s guild.

The next day he used the time to visit Stralsund, where in particular the former training ship of the Reichsmarine “Gorch Fock” (also called “Gorch Fock I”) was his destination. On deck and below deck there were many new impressions and with many pictures and ideas in mind, Maurer approached the homeward journey towards evening.

For the upcoming Luckner Stammtisch (Wednesday, 17.4.2019 from 18.00 clock in the Luckner Vault) Maurer will report in the context of a picture presentation on the recent visit and take a look at the exciting history of the training ships of the German Navy to make the lecture “round” .

The topic is of particular interest, as Count Luckner was the first commander of the newly established sailing training ship “Niobe” from March to September 1921, which was unfortunately lost in 1932 in a tragic accident.

The event is public, interested parties are welcome.

Google-Code

Gorch Fock und andere Schulschiffe

Der Präsident unserer Gesellschaft unternahm kürzlich eine Reise an die Ostsee. Ziel war die Hansestadt Greifswald, wo er vor der dortigen Schiffergilde einen Vortrag über den “Seeteufel” Graf Luckner hielt. Am kommenden Tag nutzte er die Zeit für einen Besuch in Stralsund, wo insbesondere das ehemalige Schulschiff der Reichsmarine “Gorch Fock” (auch “Gorch Fock I” genannt) sein Ziel war. An Deck und unter Deck gab es viele neue Eindrücke und mit vielen Bildern und Ideen im Kopf trat Maurer gegen Abend die Heimreise an.

Zum kommenden Luckner Stammtisch (Mittwoch, 17.4.2019 ab 18.00 Uhr im Luckner Gewölbe) wird Maurer im Rahmen einer Bildpräsentation über den kürzlichen Besuch berichten sowie einen Blick auf die spannende Geschichte der Schulschiffe der deutschen Marine werfen, um den Vortrag “rund” zu machen.

Das Thema ist insbesondere von Interesse, da Graf Luckner von März bis September 1921 erster Kommandant des neu eingerichteten Segelschulschiffes “Niobe” war, die leider im Jahre 1932 bei einem tragischen Unglück verloren ging.

Die Veranstaltung ist öffentlich, Interessenten sind herzlich eingeladen.

Google-Code