Short Chronicle

About the international Felix Count von Luckner Society

(Data and facts in excerpts)

March 29, 2004 Foundation of our association with international orientation in Halle (Saale) / Germany

2004 – Lecture evenings, information evening in the Francke Foundations, first presentation of the traveling exhibition “The Timberwolves – Halle / Germany – Felix Count von Luckner”, more than 50 members

2005 – Events marking the 60th anniversary of the end of the war, purchase of many pieces for the planned museum, touring exhibition will be shown in Halle, more than 100 members from 14 nations

2006 – Commemoration in Hamburg at the Count’s 40th anniversary of death, celebrations for the 125th anniversary in Pennrich and Halle, honoring by special postal service of Deutsche Post and commemorative medal of our society, participation in the Saxony-Anhalt-day in Halle, over 150 members

2007 – Opening of a shop window exhibition in Halle, purchase of many copies for the museum, opening of a business office at the President’s residence with archive and library as well as a small exhibition

2008 – Visit of the “Timberwolves” in Halle, evening together at the “Halloren im Thale zu Halle”, contact to the owner of the former yacht “Seeteufel”, rescue efforts regarding the ship, over 200 members from 19 nation

2009 – several lectures, participation in the museum night and presentation of our “Museum in Waiting” in the Archaeological Museum (Robertinum) to Halle

2010 – participation in the “boat” in Dusseldorf with own stand, first bell ringing on 19 April to commemorate the peaceful end of war in Halle in 1945, first work on club premises (Luckner vaults), founding of the “American Contingent” (American Group of our company), reception SE Philip D. Murphy, Ambassador of the USA, Hans-Dietrich Genscher and other personalities at the monument for the “Timberwolves”

2011 – purchase of a large collection for our museum, second bell ringing for peace on 19 April followed by devotion on the Old Market, delegation attends the celebration of Luckner’s 130th birthday on the former “Seeteufel” in St. Petersburg, participation in festive event in Wandlitz of the local naval history sports club “Graf Luckner”

2012 – Participation in the fair “Reise-Freizeit-Caravan” in Halle; third ringing of the bells, at the inauguration of a table, on which the rescuers of the city of Halle receive appreciation, among them for the first time Count Luckner; first Luckner Christmas market

2013 – Second participation in the fair in Halle; Re-enacting the legendary negotiations between Luckner and General Allen before the ringing of the bell on April 19, previously discarding reprinted pamphlets warning the Hallens of US troops from the destruction of Halle; Visit of the “Timberwolves”; Inauguration of the Luckner taxis (Lucknerbus), drive to Papenburg on the occasion of Luckner’s birthday; Completion of the “Luckner Gewölbe”, second Luckner Christmas market

2014 – regular holding of the Luckner Stammtisch in the Luckner vault on every third Wednesday of the month at 6 pm after its official opening; Visit of Troy Patterson and his nephew from Texas, USA; Celebration on 8 November on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the Society in the rooms of the Salzwirker Brotherhood in the Thale zu Halle in the presence of the Mayor of Halle, Dr. med. Bernd Wiegand, and relatives of the Count’s family.

2015 – participation in the Halle Messe; Organization of the commemoration of the 70th anniversary of the end of the war in Halle in the city’s market square with the participation of guests of honor such as the Vice Ambassador of the United States, James D. Melville Jr., Consul General of the United States, Scott R. Riedmann, who also included in the Golden Book another entry was made by Hans-Dietrich Genscher, who was unable to attend the celebrations for health reasons, and negotiations between Count Luckner and Gen. Terry Allen re-enacted, this time even with the participation of a large group of reenactmen actors representing the Timberwolves; regular Luckner Stammtisch with many lectures by Wolfgang Seilkopf; Start of the establishment of the “Meeting Place for International Understanding”, which was financially subsidized by the Saalesparkasse.

2016 – trip to Hamburg on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the death of Count Luckner with a wreath-laying ceremony at the grave of the “Sea Devil” as well as a visit to Luckner sites in the Hanseatic city on the Elbe; the book “When all the bells ring” will be presented for the 19th of April; first lecture in the seminar room of the “Meeting Place for International Understanding”, topic: “Is the cathedral standing – the end of the war in Cologne.” Regular’s Table in the “von Luckner ‘s Vault” with members and guests.

2017 – On-Site-Inspection on the Stadtgottesacker with persons responsible for the extension of the bow 85 to information of further family members “von Luckner”, which there their last rest found, without ever been mentioned. In Friedrichsschwerz members participate in the unveiling of a plaque commemorating the peaceful end of the war in Brachwitz; President Maurer holds the ceremonial speech. Supporting a celebration celebrating the centenary of the Count’s arrest and escape from the prison camp during World War I, in Motuihe, New Zealand, by sending a message of welcome and other measures. Reception (including Capt. Markus Fisk and wife) from abroad.

2018 – Our traveling exhibition is prepared for re-use in a work assignment. For the annual general meeting our collection will be presented in parts to the members of the society. In the Bismarckturm zu Wettin our traveling exhibition (in parts) is shown throughout the whole summer; our friends from the association in Friedrichsschwerz are supporting us. We receive again visitors from abroad. The Luckner Christmas market takes place again, this time with different choirs. We are opening the society and in particular the Lucker Stammtisch to other historical and regional historical topics.

2019 – Visit of a member from the USA; first Stammtisch becomes a full house with interesting topics a great success …

Google-Code

Kurze Chronik

Über die internationale Felix Graf von Luckner Gesellschaft
(Daten und Fakten in Auszügen)

29. März 2004 Gründung unseres Vereins mit internationaler Ausrichtung in Halle (Saale)

2004 – Vortragsabende, Informationsabend in den Franckeschen Stiftungen, erste Präsentation der Wanderausstellung „The Timberwolves – Halle/Germany – Felix Count von Luckner“, über 50  Mitglieder

2005
– Veranstaltungen zum 60. Jahrestag des Kriegsendes, Ankauf vieler Stücke für das geplante Museum, Wanderausstellung wird in Halle gezeigt, über 100 Mitglieder aus 14 Nationen

2006
– Gedenken in Hamburg an des Grafen 40. Todestag, Festveranstaltungen zum 125. Geburtstag in Pennrich und Halle, Ehrung durch Sonderganzsache der Deutschen Post sowie Gedenkmedaille unserer Gesellschaft, Teilnahme am Sachsen-Anhalt-Tag in Halle, über 150 Mitglieder

2007
– Eröffnung einer Schaufensterausstellung in Halle, Erwerb vieler Exemplare für das Museum, Eröffnung einer Geschäftsstelle am Sitz des Präsidenten mit Archiv und Bibliothek sowie kleiner Ausstellung

2008
– Besuch der „Timberwölfe“ in Halle, gemeinsamer Abend bei den Halloren im Thale zu Halle, Kontakt zur Eigentümerin der  ehemaligen Yacht „Seeteufel“, Rettungsbemühungen bzgl. des Schiffes, über 200 Mitglieder aus 19 Nationen

2009
– mehrere Vorträge, Teilnahme an der Museumsnacht und Vorstellung unseres „Museums im Wartestand“ im Archäologischen Museum (Robertinum) zu Halle

2010
– Teilnahme an der „Boot“ in Düsseldorf mit eigenem Stand, erstmaliges Glockenläuten am 19. April zum Gedenken an das friedliche Kriegsende in Halle im Jahre 1945, erste Arbeiten an vereinseigenen Räumen (Luckner Gewölbe), Gründung des „American Contingents“ (amerikanische Gruppe unserer Gesellschaft), Empfang S.E. Philip D. Murphy, Botschafter der USA, Hans-Dietrich Genscher und weiterer Persönlichkeiten am Denkmal für die „Timberwölfe“

2011
– Ankauf eines großen Konvolutes für unser Museum, zweites Glockenläuten für den Frieden am 19. April mit anschließender Andacht auf dem Alten Markt, Delegation nimmt an Feier zu Luckners 130. Geburtstag auf ehemaliger „Seeteufel“ in St. Petersburg teil, Teilnahme an Festveranstaltung in Wandlitz des dortigen Marine-Historik-Sport-Clubs „Graf Luckner“

2012
– Teilnahme an der Messe “Reise-Freizeit-Caravan” in Halle; drittes Glockenläuten, dabei Einweihung einer Tafel, auf der die Retter der Stadt Halle Würdigung erfahren, unter ihnen namentlich erstmals Graf Luckner; erster Luckner-Weihnachtsmarkt

2013 – Zweite Teilnahme an der Messe in Halle; Nachstellen der legendären Verhandlungen zwischen Luckner und General Allen vor dem Glockenläuten am 19. April, vorher Abwurf von nachgedruckten Flugblättern, mit denen die Hallenser von den US-Truppen vor der Zerstörung von Halle gewarnt wurden; Besuch der “Timberwölfe”; Einweihung des Luckner-Taxis (Lucknerbus), Fahrt nach Papenburg anläßlich Luckners Geburtstages; Fertigstellung “Luckner Gewölbe”, zweiter Luckner-Weihnachtsmarkt

2014 – Regelmäßiges Abhalten des Luckner-Stammtisches im Luckner-Gewölbe an jedem dritten Mittwoch im Monat um 18.00 Uhr nach dessen offizieller Eröffnung; Besuch von Troy Patterson und seinem Neffen aus Texas, USA; Feier am 8. November anläßlich des 10-jährigen Bestehens der Gesellschaft in den Räumen der Salzwirker Brüderschaft im Thale zu Halle in Anwesenheit des Oberbürgermeisters von Halle, Dr. Bernd Wiegand, und Verwandten der Familie des Grafen.

2015 - Teilnahme an der Halle Messe; Organisation der Gedenkveranstaltung zum 70. Jahrestag des Kriegsendes in Halle auf dem Marktplatz der Stadt unter Teilnahme von Ehrengästen wie dem Vizebotschafter der USA, James D. Melville Jr., dem Generalkonsul der USA, Scott R. Riedmann, die sich auch in das Goldene Buch der Gesellschaft eintrugen, ein weiterer Eintrag folgte von Hans-Dietrich Genscher, der den Feierlichkeiten aus gesundheitlichen Gründen nicht beiwohnen konnte, wieder wurden die Verhandlungen zw. Graf Luckner und Gen. Terry Allen nachgestellt, dieses Mal sogar unter Teilnahme einer großen Gruppe von Reenactmen Schauspielern, welche die Timberwölfe darstellten; regelmäßiger Luckner Stammtisch mit vielen Vorträgen von Wolfgang Seilkopf; Beginn der Einrichtung der “Begegnungsstätte zur Völkerverständigung”, welche von der Saalesparkasse finanziell bezuschußt wurde.

2016 – Fahrt nach Hamburg anläßlich des 50. Todestages des Grafen Luckner mit einer Kranzniederlegung am Grab des “Seeteufels” sowie Besichtigung von Luckner Stätten in der Hansestadt an der Elbe; das Buch “Wenn alle Glocken läuten” wird zum 19. April vorgestellt; erster Vortrag im Seminarraum der “Begegnungsstätte zur Völkerverständigung”, Thema: “Steht der Dom? – das Kriegsende in Köln.” Regelmäßige Stammtische im “Luckner Gewölbe” mit Mitgliedern und Gästen.

2017 – Ortstermin auf dem Stadtgottesacker mit Verantwortlichen zur Erweiterung des Bogens 85 um Informationen weiterer Familienmitglieder “von Luckner”, die dort ihre letzte Ruhe fanden, ohne je erwähnt worden zu sein. In Friedrichsschwerz nehmen Mitglieder an der Enthüllung einer Gedenktafel zum friedlichen Kriegsende in Brachwitz teil; Präsident Maurer hält die Festrede. Unterstützung einer Feier zum 100. Jahrestag der Ereignisse um die Gefangennahme des Grafen sowie dessen Flucht aus dem Gefangenenlager während des 1. Weltkrieges, in  Motuihe (Neuseeland) durch Übersendung eines Grußwortes sowie weiteren Maßnahmen. Empfang von Besuch (u.a. Capt. Markus Fisk nebst Gattin) aus dem Ausland.

2018 – Unsere Wanderausstellung wird in einem Arbeitseinsatz auf eine erneute Nutzung vorbereitet. Zur Jahreshauptversammlung wird den Mitgliedern die Sammlung der Gesellschaft in Teilen vorgestellt. Im Bismarckturm zu Wettin wird unsere Wanderausstellung (in Teilen) über den gesamten Sommer hinweg gezeigt; unsere Freunde vom Verein in Friedrichsschwerz unterstützen uns. Wir empfangen wieder Besuch aus dem Ausland. Der Luckner Weihnachtsmarkt findet zum wiederholten Male statt, dieses Mal mit verschiedenen Chören. Öffnung der Gesellschaft und insbesondere des Lucker Stammtisches auf andere historische und regionalhistorische Themen.

2019 – Besuch eines Mitgliedes aus den USA; erster Stammtisch wird mit vollem Haus und interessanten Themen ein voller Erfolg …

Google-Code